Vegan jalapeno cornbread

cornbread2

I don’t know why, but this is the first time I’ve ever made cornbread. I will absolutely make this again.

I made it to go with my vegan soul food dinner of fried chick’n, smokey bacon collard greens and spicy sweet potato fries.

cornbreadfries

And then a few nights later I reheated it and served it with my bomb chili.

chilicornbread

Gather:

2 tbsp ground flax
6 tbsp warm water
1 cup all purpose flour
1 cup cornmeal
1/4 sugar
4 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
3/4 tsp salt
1 cup plain, unsweetened soy milk
1/4 cup canola oil
1-2 sliced fresh jalapenos (optional)
brown sugar (optional)

Preheat oven to 425 degrees and line a round cake pan with foil then spray it with cooking spray.

Mix the flax and warm water in a small bowl with a whisk until it becomes thick and frothy. This is your egg replacer. Set aside.
In a medium bowl whisk together the flour, cornmeal, sugar, baking soda, baking powder and salt until well combined. Whisk the flax mixture again then add it to your dry ingredients along with the soy milk, jalapenos and oil, mix until well combined but do not overmix. I sprinkled the top of mine with brown sugar to give it a little crunch.

Pour into prepared pan and bake uncovered for 20-25 minutes, until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.

About beetdown

Food junkie, recipe scavenger, part time gardener, lover of all things pretty.
This entry was posted in From the kitchen and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Vegan jalapeno cornbread

  1. The Editor says:

    Thanks for sharing…

  2. Ani says:

    This looks great! Oftentimes cornbread is just loaded with sugar.

  3. I’ve made cornbread once before. It was the first time I had ever tasted it though so I didn’t know what I was aiming for. It was just plain, though your jalapeno version sounds great.

    This post would make a great submission to Our Growing Edge this month. It is a monthly event celebrating new food experiences. Submission deadline is in a few days. More info here: http://bunnyeatsdesign.com/our-growing-edge/

Comments are closed.