The baby pineapple

pineapple

I have two pineapple plants, I started one and my buddy Eric started the other and gave it to me when he moved away to Hawaii. You basically cut off the top of a fresh pineapple, put the bottom in water for a few weeks until it starts to root, then put it in a pot full of rich soil, compost and mulch. These guys took at least a year and a half to get as big as the picture above. I don’t think I ever really thought I was actually going to grow a pineapple, so when I saw it coming up I was really excited. Only one of the plant is flowering now but the other shouldn’t be far behind.

pineapple baby

The fruit comes up out of the center of the plant and has pretty little purple flowers all over it.

pineapple bigger baby

This photo was taken just a few days ago. I don’t know how big it’s going to get, and I’m sure it’s not going to taste like a beautiful, tropical pineapple but look how cute it is!

The plants alone are gorgeous and I would grow them just for the green, (dangerously) pointy foliage.

To be continued along with the adventure of the pineapple….

Updated December 27th:

pineapple

About beetdown

Food junkie, recipe scavenger, part time gardener, lover of all things pretty.
This entry was posted in From the garden. Bookmark the permalink.