Potato dumplin’s

potato dumplings

I found another reason to make gravy…..

The real inspiration, though,  was the potato dumpling. These were really easy and really delicious, my favorite kind of thing to make. I have mentioned a few times that I cannot make mashed potatoes so I never really considered making my own gnocchi or dumplings or anything made from mashed potatoes. These are made from good old Betty Crocker Potato Buds!

I made a “chicken” gravy out of no-chicken broth and topped the dumplings with Gardein’s chick’n scallopini. I made a crunchy salad out of chopped celery hearts and leaves and fresh cilantro for the garnish for texture.

The dumplings recipe:

1 cup Betty Crocker Potato Buds
1 cup hot water
1 egg replacer
1 cup AP flour, sifted
1 tbsp fresh parsley
1 tsp salt

Mix potato buds with hot water. Add egg replacer and beat well. Beat in flour, salt and parsley until smooth. Use your hands and roll into dumplings. Drop into boiling, salted water and cook until they float to the top. They don’t take more than about 15 minutes, they will take less time if they are smaller. Remove from water when they float and add to your dish.

These would be great in a soup also!

About beetdown

Food junkie, recipe scavenger, part time gardener, lover of all things pretty.
This entry was posted in From the kitchen and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.