Heirloom tomato salad

heirloom tomato

Today I picked my first “chocolate stripes” heirloom tomato. It was big and beautiful and ugly and perfectly delicious. I had a huge avocado that was given to us ripe this morning so I needed to use it somehow.

I chopped the tomato and the avocado into bite sized chunks. I left all the chunks laying in a single layer on the cutting board, then drizzled everything with some lemon juice and sprinkled with salt and pepper. I put the pieces back into the avocado halves and served with balsamic glaze and hollapeño hot sauce.

avocado tomato salad

About beetdown

Food junkie, recipe scavenger, part time gardener, lover of all things pretty.
This entry was posted in From the garden, From the kitchen and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Heirloom tomato salad

  1. flavourphotos says:

    How lovely is that tomato! Love it 🙂 I’ve grown tomatoes for the first time this year and had such a wonderful harvest… I’ve posted a recipe for sunblush (roasted, semi-dried) tomatoes on my blog a couple of days ago. If you’ve never tried roasting your own…. it’s soooo delicious.

Comments are closed.