Gravy

I love gravy. All kinds. Any time I think about mashed potatoes and gravy….I want to eat them right now.

I had a conversation about gravy on Sunday and I was inspired. I had not yet attempted biscuits and gravy since I stopped eating dairy, they used to be a part of almost every big Sunday breakfast. We don’t really eat huge, overwhelming breakfasts anymore, but I love biscuits and gravy.

I would have normally used Bisquick to make my biscuits but I didn’t have any. I found a recipe for vegan buttermilk biscuits online and they turned out a little too dry. It didn’t matter much once they were covered in gravy.

For the sausage in the gravy I used Lightlife ground sausage. I browned it in pan with some oil and used a masher crumble it up.

For the gravy I made a roux out of flour and canola oil, equal parts. Then I added plain, unsweetened soy milk and whisked until it was mixed really well. I used a lot of black pepper ( I think the black pepper and sausage should be the standout flavors in sausage gravy), some salt, paprika and a little cayenne pepper to give it some heat. Whisk over low heat until nice and thick, add sausage and warm through. Serve right away, it thickens a lot as it cools. If it gets too thick just add a little water and whisk.

biscuits and gravy

We had gravy for dinner as well. I made some Gardein beefless strips, beet greens and mashed potatoes to go with my green chili gravy. When I pulled the tomatoes out of the garden this year, I saved all of the little green tomatoes that were left on the plants. I like to cook with them, they are great in pasta dishes. I grabbed a bag of them out of the freezer and put them in a pot with lots of mild green chilis, garlic and salt. I covered everything with water then brought it to a boil, reduced the heat and simmered for an hour. Once everything was really soft I poured out some of the water, leaving just enough to barely cover the cooked down veggies. I used an immersion blender to make a puree and added some green hot sauce, garlic salt and black pepper. I made a roux out of earth balance and flour, then slowly whisked in my pepper puree, stirring over low heat until it thickened. I whisked in a big dollup of sour cream and served it hot over garlic mashed potatoes. I could eat gravy with every meal. This post actually took me over an hour because I stopped mid way to go eat leftover gravy.

green chili gravy

Gravy. It’s good.

About beetdown

Food junkie, recipe scavenger, part time gardener, lover of all things pretty.
This entry was posted in From the kitchen and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.