Sunday, in the kitchen.

pumpkin pancakes

Pumpkin pancakes and roasted potatoes

Summer isn’t over yet but I love pumpkin so much, I almost can’t wait for fall. This was a great start for a Sunday.

After breakfast, I did some gardening and picked all of the hot peppers. Two huge bowls full of thai hot chili’s, jalapeno, cayenne, serrano and habanero peppers. The hot sauce turned into kind of an all day process, in between cooking and eating dinner and dessert.

I made 3 different kinds. One was just a basic red sauce, my favorite. I only had a few cayenne’s so I roasted them up with some garlic and blended with lots of salt, water and vinegar. I kept that bottle to myself. I made a tai hot chili, jalapeno and pineapple sauce. It’s quite hot but it went great on my avocado toast the next day. The third sauce was smokey garlic, serrano and habanero peppers. Also very hot, but has a really great flavor.

hot sauce

A lot of hot sauce

My mom makes a beef stroganoff that is so good, I feel like I can remember exactly what it tasted like, even though the last time I had it was over 17 years ago. Last weekend we went to San Francisco and a vegan restaurant there had a beef stroganoff on the menu, I had to have it.  Of course, I was disappointed, but it gave me a mission. I made beef stroganoff, it was as good as I hoped it would be. If I know what flavor I’m looking for, I can almost always find a way to create it. I am proud of this dish, I hope mom will be too.

beef stroganoff

Beef stroganoff

3/4 lb of fresh pasta (the only thing that would have made this better, mom’s home made noodles)
2 pkgs gardein beefless tips or west soy cubed seitan
salt
1 cup chopped onion
1 cup chopped celery
1 cup sliced baby portobello mushrooms
6 tbsp earth balance, divided
1/2 cup of flour
3 cups vegetable broth
1 tbsp soy sauce
2 tbsp cooking sherry
black pepper
fresh parsley
1/3 cup vegan sour cream

Bring a large pot of water to a boil. Salt the water and add pasta, cook al dente, drain, rinse and set aside.  (Make the whole pound, but only mix about 3/4 of it into your sauce, otherwise it will be too dry. Lightly oil the leftover pasta and throw it in the fridge for another day)
In a large saute pan, melt 4 tablespoons of earth balance. Add chopped onion, celery and sliced mushrooms and cook down until the onion and celery are soft. Turn the heat up a bit and add the beef tips or seitan chunks and saute to brown them just a little. Turn the heat back down, add the remaining two tablespoons of earth balance. After that melts, add flour and stir quickly to mix well. Add vegetable broth and soy sauce, stir well to mix everything and loosen up the flour. Add cooking sherry and black pepper. With heat on low, stir gently until it thickens into a rich, creamy sauce. Add pasta and cook for just a few minutes until it is warm through. Turn off the heat, add the sour cream in 3 big dollups, sprinkle with fresh parsley and stir gently to swirl in the sour cream. Cover for a minute or so to warm the sour cream. Enjoy.

We enjoyed with some roasted root vegetables. I cut up white potato, golden beet, chioggia beet, carrot and garlic. I tossed them with some olive oil, salt, pepper, cayenne pepper and paprika then spread out into a baking dish with some fresh rosemary. Bake, covered at 425 for  30-45 minutes, then uncover and bake until brown and soft enough to pierce with a fork, stirring gently halfway through. Remove the rosemary before serving.

root veg

roasted roots

I almost forgot about dessert. When I go to the store and I see something I used to like to eat, I pick it up and read the ingredients just incase it happens to be dairy free ( it almost never happens).  Browsing around Target I picked up a box of sugar cones….dairy free! So then I browsed right over to the ice cream section and picked up a coconut milk cookie dough ice cream and a peanut butter chocolate almond milk ice cream. Good decision. Dessert was a double scoop….on a sugar cone.

ice cream cone

psshh

It was a long day in the kitchen. It was a great day for the blog.

About beetdown

Food junkie, recipe scavenger, part time gardener, lover of all things pretty.
This entry was posted in From the kitchen and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.