Sprouts…

This quick Monday night dinner was delicious, all thanks to Sprouts and sprouts. I love Sprouts market, they have so much fresh produce and so many healthy alternatives. We also went to the Hillcrest farmers market over the weekend, which is so much bigger than the OB market and has more produce.

So, I had just gotten everything put away from the store and did the dishes from the night before (I’m lazy), when I realized that it was 6:30 and I hadn’t started dinner. I bought all this fresh, amazing produce but I didn’t have time to transform it into something awesome. I decided on veggie burgers and salad, quick and easy.

I threw some greens (Sprouts power greens: kale, spinach, swiss chard) into a large bowl and just started throwing things in to make a salad. I added sunflower sprouts, blueberries, grapes, sunflower seeds, fresh beets and cucumber. I made a quick dressing out of olive oil, balsamic, stone ground mustard, agave, salt and pepper then tossed everything together. It turned out really good, but nothing compares to this ridiculous veggie burger.

pretzel burger

Sprouts now makes pretzel buns, they are vegan and they are amazing! I spread just a tiny bit of earth balance on top and sprinkled with sea salt then put them in the oven just for a few minutes to melt the earth balance and give just a tiny crisp to the bun. Sprouts also makes their own veggie burgers now, they have awesome flavor and better ingredients than most others. I topped each burger with a huge slice of the most beautiful heirloom tomato that I found at the farmers market, sliced fresh onion, sunflower sprouts, mustard and veganaise. Holy macaroni, so good!

About beetdown

Food junkie, recipe scavenger, part time gardener, lover of all things pretty.
This entry was posted in From the kitchen and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.