Salsa!

salsa jars

I picked all of my little baby sad tomatoes and gave salsa making a second chance. My first attempt failed, it was mild and bland. This time, it turned out perfectly, Mom will be proud.

tomato copy

I still have one million green tomatoes that I can’t decide what to do with.

I cut the tops off of all the red ones, straight across. I laid them on a baking sheet, cut side down and put them in the oven to roast for just a few minutes. Roast only until the skin starts to wrinkle and make sure you use a deep baking sheet so you don’t overflow with tomato juice.

roasted tomato

Let them cool while you roast the hot peppers.
I cut the tops off of all the peppers before roasting also, otherwise they explode in the oven. Roast them until they are just starting to bubble, do not roast for too long or the skins will dry out and get chewy and we are not peeling these. I suppose you can peel them, if you have all the time in the world and a pair of gloves.

roasted peppers

I used all of the peppers I had in the garden, so there was a mix of cayenne, jalapeno, serrano,  and tai hot chili’s.

Using a food processor, pulverize some garlic and an onion. Toss them into a large pot with a little bit of olive oil and saute until it starts to brown just slightly. Turn the heat off.

Peel the tomatoes and process in the food processor until they are almost liquified, with some small pieces. Throw some hand fulls of cilantro in there too. Pour the processed tomatoes into your large pot with the onion and garlic. I have a small food processor so this took me a while.

Put the peppers through the food processor too, with the skins as long as they are not dried out, then add them to your pot.

Add a good amount of salt, some vinegar and some garlic powder.

Stir it all up, heat until it comes to a good simmer.

salsa

Use proper canning skills to keep the salsa unrefrigerated for a long time. If your jars don’t seal, don’t sweat. Put them in the fridge and eat up or give some jars away to people who’s mouth’s you want to burn.

It’s hot, but it tastes really good too.

About beetdown

Food junkie, recipe scavenger, part time gardener, lover of all things pretty.
This entry was posted in From the garden, From the kitchen and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.