Vegan donuts. Are you serious?

I’ll tell you what….I love donuts. We get loads of them at work, all the time. Fresh, fragrant, delicious, off limits. I was looking for a bread recipe the other day and accidentally found a donut recipe instead. I had the day off, there was no reason for me not to make donuts.

donutclose

I veganized this recipe:

1 pkg active dry yeast
1/8 cup warm water
3/4 cup vanilla soy milk
1/4 cup sugar
1/2 tsp salt
egg replacer for 1 egg
2 1/2 Tbsp earth balance vegan butter
2 1/2 cups all purpose flour
Canola oil for frying

Stir the yeast into the water and let it sit for 10 minutes. In a large bowl, combine the yeast mixture, soy milk, sugar, salt, egg replacer, butter, and 1 cup of the flour. Add the remaining flour, 1/2 cup at a time to form a soft dough. Knead the dough for 10 minutes, I did this in my stand mixer with dough hooks but you can hand knead it. 10 minutes is a long time for hand kneading but it is therapeutic! Grease a large bowl and put the dough ball in, cover and set in a warm place for 1 hour. It should double in size.

Turn the dough out onto a lightly floured surface. Roll out to about 1/2 in thick. Cut the dough with a donut cutter or whatever you have in your kitchen that you can make circles with. I used a jar lid and a cake decorating tip.

donut dough

I rolled the dough out twice, the second time it was a little rubbery so I wouldn’t try to roll it out more than two times. I made 9 donuts and lots of little donut holes.

Place each donut on a greased baking sheet, at least 2 inches apart. Cover with a towel and let rise for another hour.

Heat the canola oil in a pot deep enough that you can turn the donuts without having them touch the bottom. I used a small saucepan and did one donut at a time. Turn when the edges get light brown and bubbly, flip carefully with a chopstick or two, the second side cooks even faster. Place on a paper towel to drain the excess oil then cool on a wire rack.

I made a chocolate ganache and toasted some coconut to top some of them, I made a glaze out of powdered sugar, earth balance and vanilla, and some of them I just covered with powdered sugar (my favorite). I brushed all the holes with a little bit of agave syrup then tossed into a bag with cinnamon and sugar to coat.

donuts

I will make these again, very soon.

About beetdown

Food junkie, recipe scavenger, part time gardener, lover of all things pretty.
This entry was posted in From the kitchen and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Vegan donuts. Are you serious?

  1. LFFL says:

    I haven’t made donuts yet ever, but I want to try to next chance I get. These look good.

Comments are closed.