Hollapeño Hot Sauce

hollapeno hot sauce

Holla

Today I picked 27 jalapeños, 25 tai hot chili’s and 3 serrano peppers. This is just the beginning of hot pepper season in my garden, let the hot sauce making begin! I like cayenne peppers best for hot sauce, but they’re not ready yet. This is my first attempt at a green sauce, it turned out really good, and really hot.

Here is what you need:

Peppers (mix it up, play with flavors and spice levels), roasted
Roasted garlic (I have a lot of elephant garlic so I used 3 cloves, it’s more mild than regular garlic so I also added some granulated garlic)
Salt
Vinegar
Water

elephant garlic

hotpepperngarlic

You can use a blender or a deep bowl and an immersion blender. I think the immersion blender does a better job pulverizing the seeds and skins. Toss in your garlic, salt and granulated garlic if you please. Pull the tops off the peppers and throw them in. Add enough liquid to just cover everything. I use about 1 part vinegar to 2 parts water. Hot sauce is very customizable so just start blending and add more of what you like as you go. Add more vinegar or water if it needs more liquid, taste it after you have it pretty well blended then play with the flavors, adding more garlic, salt or vinegar. Mine was rough to taste as I went because it was so hot, but I toned it down a bit with a little more liquid and salt.

Bottle it, refrigerate it.

It will stay good in the refrigerator for a long time. I’ve never had it go bad, but hot sauce really doesn’t last long in my house.

About beetdown

Food junkie, recipe scavenger, part time gardener, lover of all things pretty.
This entry was posted in From the garden, From the kitchen and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hollapeño Hot Sauce

  1. Pingback: Got Peppers? Make Garlic Chili Paste | The Journey of Two

Comments are closed.