Meatloaf with mashed potatoes and gravy, roasted beets, kale and beet greens topped with crispy beer battered onions

meatloaf

This is a tower of things I love. Except for beets, but we’re working on that. The recipes are listed in order of appearance as shown above, from the bottom up.

Vegan brown gravy

2 1/2 tbsp earth balance buttery spread
1/4 cup all purpose flour
1 1/2 cups vegetable broth
2 tbsp soy sauce
1/4 tsp fresh ground black pepper
fresh parsley

Melt earth balance in sauce pan, whisk butter and flour for about 30 seconds. Add broth and soy sauce. Whisk until you achieve desired thickness. Stir in parsley. Serve immediately.

Mashed potatoes

My nemesis. I can not make mashed potatoes. I have never successfully made them from fresh potatoes. I go right for the box of potato buds. They’re super quick and easy and I think they are delicious, luckily, or I would never get to eat mashed potatoes.

Meatloaf

red pepper
onion
garlic
hot pepper if you please, I added an inferno pepper
breadcrumbs
Ener-G egg replacer
Heinz Chili Sauce
thyme
salt and pepper
Lightlife sausage
Soy taco grounds

Rough chop the peppers, onion, garlic and then put into food processor until they are chopped pretty small but not pulverized. Add to a sautee pan with some olive oil, salt, pepper and thyme and cook until onions are clear. Set aside to cool.
In a large bowl, add the sausage and the grounds, add breadcrumbs and cooled veggies, mix up an equivalent of one egg with replacer and add to bowl. Pour in 1/3 bottle of chili sauce. Mix all ingredients thoroughly, I use my hands.
Cover a cookie sheet with foil, spray with cooking spray.
Pour the meatloaf onto the pan and shape it into a loaf with your hands.
Pour the rest of the chili sauce on top and spread out.

meatloaf

Bake at 325 degrees for 30-60 minutes, based on the shape of your loaf. You want to heat it through and get the edges nice and brown.
Place a pan of water in the oven while you’re baking the meatloaf to keep it really moist.

I, of course, because I am always somehow missing one ingredient for everything I ever want to make, did not have any breadcrumbs. So I made some. Really easy, toast up some bread nice and crisp and dry then throw it in the food processor. Done.

Roasted beets

This is the year of the beet for me. I have tried them fresh for the first time ever and I am really trying to find ways to like them. I don’t have much of a sweet tooth and this vegetable is one of the sweetest. They are incredibly good for you so I’m really challenging myself to eat them in as many ways I can.

beets

I pulled this guy out of the garden and cut off the top, then peeled and sliced it thick. I put the slices in a foil lined baking pan with some olive oil and cover them with spices. I used salt, pepper, cayenne pepper, paprika, granulated garlic and some thyme. Cover with foil and bake until soft. These were the best beets I have made yet. Roasting them and making them spicy and smoky with the cayenne and paprika, they were more savory than sweet. I cooked them at the same time as the meatloaf at 325 degrees until they were soft. They took about 20 -30 mins.

Greens

There are so many delicious greens, I love to play with the combinations, flavors and textures. I used the greens from my beet and some kale from the garden. Chop the beet greens at the base of the leaf. You can eat the stems, they can be a little bitter, but they do add some texture to your greens if you please. I didn’t use the stems. I made a pile of beet greens and kale (definitely remove the stems from the kale leaves, all the way up) then roughly chopped. Put a pot on the stove and warm a little bit of earth balance, add your greens and about a tablespoon of water. Cover and cook to desired texture, I like them a little crunchy still. Toss in some salt and pepper, stir to coat everything evenly and serve immediately.

The onions were a last minute decision. I needed garnish and I needed texture. I wished I had some of those delicious crunchy onions you put on green been casserole, but I didn’t, so I made some. I spied some PBR, whisked a little into a bowl of flour, salt, pepper and cayenne pepper until it had a batter consistency. I sliced up some onions really thin, coated them in batter and deep fried them in a sauce pan with canola oil.

About beetdown

Food junkie, recipe scavenger, part time gardener, lover of all things pretty.
This entry was posted in From the kitchen and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.