Tomato soup

tomato soup

This is one of my “go to” recipes. It’s so easy, so fresh, and so delicious. I posted the parmesan crouton recipe in my vegan caesar salad post, they were originally made for this recipe. I will never buy croutons again.

For the soup

I usually use 1/2 roma tomatoes and 1/2 vine ripened tomatoes. I always make it with a different number of tomatoes, it depends on how much soup you want.
Cut the tomatoes into quarters
5-10 cloves of garlic, whole
1 medium onion, peeled and quartered
1 medium russet potato, peeled and cut into small chunks
fresh basil
vegetable broth or “no chicken” broth
olive oilsalt and pepper

In a large soup pot, add a few tablespoons of olive oil. Add onion and garlic and sautee just for a few minutes. Add the tomatoes, potatoes, salt, pepper and just enough broth to cover everything. Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer until potatoes are cooked soft.

While your soup is cooking, make the croutons.

For the croutons:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees

12 slices of bread, cut into crouton sized pieces (sourdough is best)
olive oil
vegan parmesan
garlic salt

Spread bread pieces out on parchment paper lined baking sheet
Drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with vegan parmesan and garlic salt
croutons
Bake for 5-6 minutes
Turn over with a spatula or mix up with tongs, drizzle again with olive
oil and sprinkle with more parmesan and garlic salt
Bake for another 5-7 minutes until brown on the edges

Set aside.

When your soup is done cooking, add fresh basil.

Blend: the first time I made this I put it all into my regular blender, I made a small batch. Now I make bigger batches so I use my immersion blender right in the pan. (Take the pan off the stove and put it on a towel or pot holder on the counter to blend) Blend until its nice and smooth.

Garnish with croutons and basil.

Some great variations:
*I always add fresh kale or spinach, but it makes the soup a less attractive color (chop it up and throw it in while your veggies are cooking
*a spoonful of vegan sour cream in each bowl
*add a hot pepper to your soup while its cooking
*rosemary
*tiny pasta stars

About beetdown

Food junkie, recipe scavenger, part time gardener, lover of all things pretty.
This entry was posted in From the kitchen and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.