Garden tour

Gardening is hard work and it is so much more challenging than I ever thought it would be. I’ve been working on this garden for 2 1/2 years and I’m still not very good at it. This year I am finally seeing really nice results and reaping the benefits. I am so lucky to have a great yard to start with. Most of it gets full sun all year round and part of it gets a lot of shade. I am constantly moving things around the yard until I figure out where they do best. I have oodles of books on gardening, most of them have conflicting information and are very generalized because all soil is different and the specific climates affect everything. I have found it’s all about trial and error.

gardenview

The main gardening area has beets, tomatoes, jalapeno peppers, cayenne peppers, green beans, onions, carrots, artichokes and newly planted swiss chard.

beet

tomato2

tomato

jalapeno

greenbeans

tinyartichoke

artichoke

Last year I started making home made hot sauce, I can’t wait to make more. So, this year I made a new pepper garden. I bought a “six alarm somethingorother” pack of peppers from Home Depot and I can’t remember what all of the peppers were. I know I have jalapeno, cayenne, habanero, serrano and some sort of tai hot chili.

hot pepper

The hot pepper garden

hot pepper garden

I have some things in pots along the house, that’s where it gets the most sun and the most heat. Strawberries dig it, the herbs, pineapple, avocado and dragon fruit like the heat too.

herbgarden

strawberries

avocado

pineapple

dragon

I like to plant a little bit of everything, just to see what I can get to grow. The passion fruit vine was a fun find about a year and a half ago and it grows like a weed. I’ve had to very carefully transplant it twice because it was outgrowing it’s home.

passionflower

This spring I had a surprise vine take over my grass area. Somehow I am growing what appear to be either watermelon or some type of squash. Five or six plants are taking over huge parts of my yard quickly but I’m too curious to cut them down.

melonsquash

Must have kale. I use it in everything.

kale

There’s a side area that is most of the time over run by snails and it’s so hard to grow anything that they don’t take out right away. I put a tiny chocolate mint plant in there about a year and a half ago and it quickly took over the entire area. I have been able to grow some good roses in there and decorative greenery and even elephant garlic (which I just harvested today….4 huge heads of garlic). We have a banana tree and an orange tree, the banana has never banana’d and the oranges are bitter. I have too much time invested in everything else to care about the trees just yet. I suspect the orange needs some grooming that I cannot handle myself. Underneath that bitter old orange tree are some pretty impressive blueberry bushes. They are not blooming at the moment and are due for some pruning but they make big, sweet berries when they want to.

roses

wet garlic

fuschia

banana tree

blueberries

Beaker’s favorite place

beakers oasis

My favorite place

covered

About beetdown

Food junkie, recipe scavenger, part time gardener, lover of all things pretty.
This entry was posted in From the garden and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.