Fun in the kitchen on a Saturday night

My garden is doing so well this year, it’s exciting to be harvesting things every day! We are already eating strawberries, green beans, fresh herbs, carrots, beets, onions, jalapenos and I just harvested my elephant garlic today. It has to dry in the garage for 2 weeks, our garage smells so garlicy already! Last night I had lots of fresh goodies from the garden so I decided to make a fun meal and follow it with a delicious dessert.

beansjalapenosstrawbs

carrots

julienne veg

I only grew red and purple carrots this year, they’re so pretty and they keep their color when you cook them.

beeftips


Sesame beef tips

Gardein Beefless tips sauteed in olive oil with sesame seeds over carrots and green beans sautéed in olive oil, soy sauce and sriracha. I wasn’t sure how to incorporate the jalapenos, but keeping with an asian themed dish, I spied some tempura batter in the pantry. The dippers are dots of veganaise and sriracha.

As soon as I got the kitchen cleaned up from dinner, I decided to make a mess again with dessert.

Tempura fried bananas

I had tempura batter left and I saw over ripe bananas on the counter. Done. Right before I dipped the bananas in the tempura I thought twice about using the same batter I had dipped the jalapenos in….so I dumped it and started fresh.

I brushed a few pieces of pita bread with earth balance then coated them with cinnamon and sugar and baked them in the oven until they were crisp.

The bowl is lined with Hershey’s syrup (did you know it’s vegan!?) and peanut butter then topped with powdered sugar.  Missing is a scoop of ice cream or some whipped cream, either would have sent this dessert to the top of any favorite dessert list.

About beetdown

Food junkie, recipe scavenger, part time gardener, lover of all things pretty.
This entry was posted in From the kitchen and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.